Monday, May 11, 2009

Busy Weekend

We've been running nonstop this weekend!

Saturday...
I made Kolton go to the gym with me. I say "made" him because he tells me he doesn't like it but then he has fun when he's there. I think we were there for all of 30 minutes because it took me forever to get out of the house! I bribed him with a trip to Dunkin' Donuts to get us to the gym! Gym...then DD...doesn't that go hand in hand?!

Once he got his 12 powdered sugar donuts...I only asked and paid for 6...we were on our way to a soccer game. Ellie and Josh play on the same team and it was at 10 a.m. instead of the usual 9 a.m. so Kolton and I actually made it to a game! They are so stinkin' cute out there!

Once the game was over we headed over to Chickfila for some lunch and then went straight to Disney's Blizzard Beach with the Hunter's. We had so much fun and actually stayed until closing time. The boys started off in Tike's Peak (the little kid park) and stayed in there for quite a while. They then headed into the big kid park (Ski Patrol Training Camp) where the boys immediately got in line to try the floating iceburg course. They all did awesome!! We tried to talk them into going on the zip line but none of them were up for that. I don't think they liked the noise it made when it hit the end and sent them flying into the water! So we couldn't convince them of it! Not even one of them! I think after they went down the slides, both with and without tubes, several hundred times we moved on to the wave pool. They would have been content to stay in there for the rest of the day!! The adults, however, were anxious to do something else. You can only be swam into and pushed around so much! We MADE them go on the Toboggan Racer ride. I think it's like 8 slides all next to each other. You know the boys wanted to race...seriously, the lady lifeguard at the top sent Josh down first before the rest of us...you CANNOT mess with competitive boys like that. So, Kolton had a minor meltdown and we had to ride it again. This time, the guy lifeguard pushed Kolton down before us...and actually held Josh back. Again...WHY?! So now this time it was Josh's turn to have a meltdown. Unbelievable. Anyway, we decided to move on. No need to go through it all again!! During this time Luke was napping with Alicia holding him over in the little kid area. We wanted to go see if he was awake to join in the fun. He was up and moving so the boys started playing again. Mr and Mrs Drummond bought ice cream for Josh and these huge slushies for Kolton and Bryce. I asked Kolton to share his with me...even though it was BRIGHT BLUE. I think we had community slushie...Kolton, Luke, Josh, and I all shared it. Needless to say, we all had very bright blue lips and tongues! Next we were on to TeamBoat Springs. The family raft ride. Did you know there are a minimum of 4 riders and a maximum of 6? Well, when you have a bunch of boys determined to ride together and one is not yet two that proves to me an issue. Dave, the rebel, got in with all the boys and left Angel, Alicia, and I to ride together...1+1+1 = 3! They had to stop the ride and have more people jump in with us, but you know what, we didn't have to listen to one boy whine!!
I only got into a couple of altercations during the day...all completely unexpected. You would think that I'm looking for trouble...I really don't! It finds me.

Moving on...as soon as we got back into town Kolton and I rushed home and changed clothes. We were heading to the 6:30 service at Real Life to be there for Ellie's dedication ceremony. I took pictures for the Caney's and I can only hope that they have several to pick from! The kids had a blast in their class and then afterwards playing outside on the hand rails. They use them as slides...I mean, who wouldn't?

That's all we could fit in for the day...I'm not sure I could handle much more!!

Monday, May 4, 2009

Monday...renamed as Gym day

THREE times...
I went to the gym three times today!
AHHHH!

9am
First visit consisted of a half hour training session, followed by a half hour of intense cardio!

2pm
Second visit consisted another half hour training session

5:30pm
More intense cardio

Good Gracious!
I'm in for 10am and 2pm again tomorrow!

Epcot


We made a last minute decision to head out to Epcot on Sunday. Kolton had never been there and I hadn't been in ages!

Kolton and I drove to the Hunter's house and rode with them. It's always an experience in a vehicle with all little boys, ages almost two to almost six. Kolton and Josh were sitting in the very back talking nonstop all the way there. I got to sit next to Lukey Fresh in the middle...and we watched Clifford the Big Red Dog on our ride :).

We got there early enough that we didn't even need to ride the tram up to the front. The day was starting very well! Dave and Alicia have it figured out...the first thing they did was get two double strollers. Our crazy boys who have no problem running all over the place always decide that their "legs hurt". WHAT? Seriously...

Anyway, Kolton and Josh got to ride the test track twice. The first time I waited in line with the two of them. They are insane. I asked them if they had sugar for breakfast (or speed?). They were like two little monkeys. We finally made it onto the ride and Kolton was a little unsure about it. The only part he didn't like was when they tell you to turn your lights on in the tunnel and yours don't turn on and the big rig comes at you! He liked everything else! The next time they rode with Mr. Dave and had the fast passes. I actually had to make Kolton go. He told me he'd let me know when he wanted to ride again! It was his last opportunity so I think going with Mr. Dave made the difference!
I think Kolton's favorite ride was Living with the Land...Aunt Nini will be proud. I have to say it is pretty cool...we got to see Mickey shaped bell peppers!










After that we were able to use the fast passes to go on Soarin'. How cool is that?! Feels like your flying! Kolton liked that one all the way to the end...then you're at Disney and the fireworks go off. He's got such sensitive ears and he wasn't prepared for the loudness BUT other than that it was great!We also made it on the NEMO ride and every single playground that we passed. We walked through the countries and rode a troll ride in Norway. The adults were drooling over the huge frozen drinks we saw everyone else drinking...but at $9 each we weren't sure it was worth it...with the kids and all! Actually we probably should have done that first!!


We had a great day...and a long one! I put Kolton to bed at 8:30 again and then I couldn't get him out of the bed this morning!

Saturday, May 2, 2009

a Saturday...

I actually went to the gym this morning. I usually don't go on Saturdays...I need weekends off, you know?! However, I ate everything in site yesterday so I thought maybe I'd feel better if I felt like I was working it off! It actually worked!

We got a invitation to go to Mrs. Deby's house to play at the pool. It was the perfect day to get some sun, drink some frozen concoctions, and let Kolton jump, swim, and dive in the pool. This is when he tells me that he doesn't understand why I am putting him in swim classes because he knows how to swim! I assured him that I know that he can swim I just want him to learn some proper strokes. He doesn't really think he needs to practice at anything...he just KNOWS how to do it!

After our relaxing trip to the pool we had to make a stop at "the Wal-Mart". It is always an experience to say the least. Kolton had managed to win $3 from Matt hitting targets at the pool so our first aisle was the "toy island" as Kolton calls it. How hard is it for a 5-year old to find a $3 toy?? It takes for EVER! Once he decided on an airplane we were allowed to move on. The whole mission for this trip was to find Matt a bucket style hat. He has a TGW event at Bithlo Motorsports Park tomorrow. He ALWAYS comes home sunburned. He had two bucket hats but has since lost them both. You know he didn't ask me to look for it right? So after we discovered that "the Wal-Mart" had none to offer we then went to TJ Maxx, JCPenney, Ross, Rue21, the Dollar Store, and even Kohl's. None of the stores had bucket hats...at least not one that would fix his XL head! We finally get home...and I search for a total of 3 minutes...and voila! I found the bucket hat! So it is determined that I "rock the block, rule the school, and anything else that rhymes and is cool!".

Kolton is in bed...at 8:30p.m. and not making a peep! That never happens...so I am enjoying the quiet!

Thursday, April 30, 2009

April 24-26th Weekend

What a crazy weekend...as most are around here!



On Saturday I drove down to the Davis Island Garden Club in Tampa to help Jackie set up for a wedding. (It's a part-time "job" that I love!) What seemed to be an easy day soon proved otherwise. While there were no chair sashes to tie, there was plenty of other little things that came about during the day. I got to the location first and noticed that there were ugly chairs laid on top o tables. I immediately started contacting Jackie to ask questions. I soon realized that I had my work cut out for me...I needed to put all 200 of those chairs back in storage and take out the prettier white ones. Yeah...she told me not to worry about it but since I was there all alone I decided to attempt it myself. It took forever! As I was putting chairs away, a group of guys came in, which I would find out later to be the groom and groomsmen, and began unloading an absurd amount of boxes. It didn't end there...they brought an additional load a few minutes later. Needless to say, we had no idea what half of the stuff was! Good communication going on so far! Once Jackie got there, we set up the rest of the tables and chairs...it was a windy day...did I mention that? It took us several unsuccessful attempts at tying sheer draping to a pole before we found a method that worked. We had to do this to three separate poles! In addition, all the table cloths on the outside tables continued to blow off...even with the addition of glass vase centerpieces! Once again, we were starting ceremony procedures dressed in our "work" clothes. During all of this last minute hoopla, Jackie discovered a huge tub of lanterns that were supposed to be hung in the trees outside! WHAT? No clue about this HUGE detail. So seriously, I got in my "wedding" attire and got the bride down the aisle....or maybe I sent the bride down the aisle before redressing...whatever! I had to hang these tremendously important not to be left in the tub lanterns in trees surrounding the ceremony and reception site as they were doing pictures! FABULOUS! At least I didn't have to climb any trees....I did that at the last wedding! Can I just say...those lanterns put off little to no light! Regardless, the bride was happy and that is all that matters...



I brought Trevor home with me that night since we got home so late we went straight to bed. Matt had to be up early the next morning for a Trucks Gone Wild show. Kolton had been asking to spend the night with Grandaddy so that is where he was for the evening. Sunday morning came quickly and Trevor and I got up and got ready for church at Real Life. Grandaddy and Kolton met us there for the early service and I got both of them to their classes before settling in to the nursery for baby duty! Love baby duty!



My phone started ringing as nursery time was ending...it was Mister Dave (as Kolton calls him). Dave was being a brave soul and taking his oldest son, Josh and Kolton to the Kidani Village at Animal Kingdom Lodge to stay the night. I rushed out the door and loaded Kolton in the van and off they went...with barely a goodbye!! He did call me later to tell me that they were staying in a tiny room...apparently it ONLY had three bedrooms, three baths, and a full kitchen. How spoiled is my child going to be? Especially when he stays at the next hotel with us...you know he's going to ask where are the other bedrooms!! They had a huge balcony and they got to watch giraffes, zebras, an ostrich, and some other wild things. How cool is that, really?! I'm a little envious! Kolton says his favorite part was the two hot tubs and the pool. They also got to stay up late and play at the arcade after eating at a nice restaurant! I know he had an absolute blast and I give a big thanks to Dave for being brave enough to attempt it. Kolton is still talking about it.



I bet I have more to say...and definitely pictures to share...but for now I am exhausted and headed to bed!

Edited: May 4th, 2009

How could I forget the PUBLIX story!?!

RJ (the DJ), Jackie, and I went to Publix to grab some flowers and some sort of food as we were all starving. We decided to head to the deli (naturally). I ordered first...a cuban sandwich. I don't know what comes on a cuban sandwich I just like it! So Lady #1 asks me what I want on it and I'm sure I gave her a blank stare...so I asked her to put whatever would normally go on one. So she gruffly asks me if I want mayo and mustard...hmmm, no...no mayo. So then she asks me what else...I am clueless so I just ask for some pickles and leave it at that. Onto question number 30 at this point. Do I want it pressed (aren't cubans always pressed), do I want it covered with some sort of honey butter...I DON'T KNOW! Anyway, mine gets pressed and then Jackie gets to order. tee hee...

Jackie (if you didn't know...she is vegetarian) orders some sort of veggie panini...Lady #1 likes to ask lots of questions that we don't know the answer too. Jackie finally gets her panini put together and onto the pressing machine. While we're waiting we decide we'd like the combo (no one asked us, mind you). We grab the medium size drinks because that's what the menu says the combo comes with...after we fill our drinks we discover that there are no medium lids. At this point we are both quite frightened of Lady #1. There is a Lady #2 but she is currently helping the man behind us...and she's almost as unfriendly as #1. This is NOT your friendly Publix! So I think we flipped a coin or something to decide who was going to ask for a lid. LUCKY ME! So I ask for lids...she rolls her eyes and says there are no more medium lids. Then asks us why we need them and we explain that we'd like the combo. So she huffs and says that the plastic coke cups with the plastic lids are for the combo but those are sitting out so she has to give them to us. Well, she gave us ONE. We are TWO. So I bravely reach behind the glass case and grab another cup and lid...it's like it was illegal or something! Regardless...we ended up with our sandwiches and our drinks...and back to the venue we went.

My sister inspires me...

She is so creative and while I will never be...I can attempt to at least write about our happenings as a family. This will allow a place to write about all of us and maybe...just maybe I will keep it up-to-date!
So, stay tuned...and thanks J...xoxo